MENU

Rocky Marsiano – Meu Kamba

Buy on iTunes!Listen on Spotify!Listen on Deezer!Buy on Amazon!Listen on Soundcloud!Buy on BandCamp!

Des beats, edits, et refontes de classiques d’Angola, du Cap Vert et du Mozambique.

Les vieilles rues de Lisbonne ont quelque chose de singulier: on peut passer devant un porche et entendre un peu de marranbenta puis, plus loin, des bouts de samba ou de funaná sortant de la fenêtre ouverte d’une voiture. Lisbonne est pleine de ces sons…et d’odeurs, et de couleurs.

D-Mars, un producteur qu’on appelle aussi Rocky Marsiano, a grandi, est devenu artiste dans ces rues, et y a formé un groupe de hip hop en lien direct avec le Cap Vert et l’Angola. L’Afrique n’a jamais été loin, et même toujours présente. Et le hip-hop lui a appris que les vinyles sont des portes ouvertes sur le passé et le futur, entre les mains expertes d’un DJ ou dans les circuits d’un sampler MPC. D-Mars, qui réside désormais à Amsterdam, a mis au défi Rui Miguel Abreu, un ami, un allié, le complice de nombreuses aventures passées, de sélectionner quelques disques de sa collection personnelle.

En découle un lot de vinyles du Cap Vert et d’Angola, du Mozambique et de São Tomé dans lequel D-Mars s’est immergé. De ces tablettes de plastique noir il a extrait les grooves les plus profonds, et a ré-imaginé l’Afrique à l’aide de son MPC. Meu Kamba en est le résultat : des rééditions à l’âme de vinyles africains classiques, des beats à la recherche d’une réponse à la plus sauvage des questions : et si les b-boys dansaient sur de la samba plutôt que du funk ?

on septembre 23 | by

MENU

Rocky Marsiano – Meu Kamba

Buy on iTunes!Listen on Spotify!Listen on Deezer!Buy on Amazon!Listen on Soundcloud!Buy on BandCamp!

Beats, edits and re-works of classics from Angola, Cape Verde & Mozambique.

There’s something about the old streets of Lisbon: you might be walking past a door and hear a bit of marrabenta and then, further down the street, hints of semba or funaná coming from the open window of a passing car. Lisbon is full of these sounds. And smells, and colours.

D-Mars, a producer who also goes by the name of Rocky Marsiano, grew up as an artist among these Lisbon streets, where he formed a hip hop group with direct ties to Cape Verde and Angola.

Africa was always close, always present. And hip hop taught him that vinyl records are pathways into the past and future, when put to good use in the hands of a DJ or in the inner circuits of an MPC sampler. D-Mars, now residing in Amsterdam, challenged Rui Miguel Abreu, a friend, an ally, a co-conspirator on many past adventures, to select some records from his personal collection.

The result is a batch of vinyl from Cape Verde and Angola, from Mozambique and São Tomé. D-Mars dove in, extracted the deepest grooves from the significant slabs of black plastic, and reimagined Africa with the help of his MPC. Meu Kamba  is the result: re-edits with the soul of classic African vinyl, beats that try to answer the wildest of questions – what if b-boys danced to semba instead of funk?

on September 23 | by