MENU

Iba Diabate – « Mouna »

Buy on iTunes!Buy on Amazon!Buy on emusic!Buy on BandCamp!

Ibrahim Bah Karamoto Diabaté, plus connu sous le nom d’Iba Diabaté, est né au pays de “l’or blanc” : Miniankala, Mali. Son père, Abdoulaye Diabaté, est un célèbre griot de stature internationale, et sa mère, une comédienne qui a joué dans des festivals artistiques et culturels locaux, descend d’une lignée de forgerons.

Les parents d’Iba font remonter leurs ancêtres directement au Royaume Bambara de Ségou, d’une lignée de griots : les messagers qui communiquent les coutumes sacrées et les traditions de la “Diabatela”. Iba a été encouragé à apprendre la musique traditionnelle Malienne à un très jeune âge, et a montré rapidement un talent prometteur. Bien que le père d’Iba l’ai envoyé poursuivre une éducation académique, tout d’abord à Yorosso, puis à Bamako, l’attirance d’Iba pour la musique ne s’est jamais tarie. Iba apprend à Yorosso à jouer de la guitare, du balafon et de la kora ; à Bamako il continue les leçons tout le long de ses années d’université, mais sa carrière ne germe réellement que lorsque Iba décide d’emménager à Montréal en 2001.

Iba se réfère à son style de musique comme le “ black blues” et dans tous ses titres vous l’entendrez chanter la paix, l’unité, l’amour, le respect, et l’injustice sociale.

Tandis que la majorité de ses textes sont dits en Bambara, sa langue native, Iba s’exprime également sur ce premier album intitulé Mouna en français, espagnol et anglais.

Aujourd’hui Iba passe le plus clair de son temps au Mali, à donner des concerts à travers le pays et à passer du temps avec son père Abdoulaye. Dès le jeune âge s’est imposé comme une relève digne de ce nom, un symbole d’accomplissement pour les gens du Mali. Iba, héritier de la tradition des griots, est également devenu la tête de file de la musique contemporaine malienne. Le monde est la prochaine cible…

Précédents posts sur Iba Diabaté:

  • Chop Our Music – 2 year Anniversary Super Release! janvier 1, 2011 Difficile à croire, mais ça ne fait pourtant que 2 ans depuis notre première sortie mondiale Akwaaba wo Africa. Tellement de choses se sont passées depuis ! Deux douzaines de sorties qui couvrent un éventail allant du Highlife nigérian au griot gambien joueur de kora, du Kuduro angolais à la Salsa béninoise…Nous avons eu le plaisir ...
  • Iba Diabaté « Mouna » available in iTunes janvier 26, 2010 Yeah… we’re hams! Couldn’t resist but post this massive feature courtesy of our friends over at iTunes. If this is any indication, Iba’s album is well worth checking out. Thanks again to Bruno & the iTunes US team for helping us push this fabulous music!!
  • Iba Diabaté – Waba (video) juillet 27, 2009
  • Iba Diabaté – Wala Yalala octobre 6, 2008 Iba est un autre talentueux griot malien. Fils du révéré Abdoulaye Diabaté, la voix d’Iba a été remarquée dès son jeune âge à Yorosso, son village à l’Est de Bamako, à proximité de la frontière avec le Burkina Faso. Iba chante surtout dans son Bambara natif, mais aussi en Français, Anglais et Espagnol, il nous ...

on avril 24 | by

MENU

Iba Diabate – “Mouna”

Buy on iTunes!Buy on Amazon!Buy on emusic!Buy on BandCamp!

Ibrahim Bah Karamoto Diabaté, better known as Iba Diabaté, was born in the “white gold” cotton country of Miniankala, Mali. His father, Abdoulaye Diabaté, is a famed griot with an established international career, while his mother, an actress who performed at local cultural and artistic festivals, descends from a line of blacksmiths.

Iba’s parents trace their ancestry directly from the Bambara Kingdom of Segu, and from the  line of griots, messengers who communicate the sacred customs and traditions of the “Diabatela”.Iba was encouraged to learn traditional Malian music at a very young age, and showed promising talent early on. Although Iba’s father sent him to pursue a formal education, first in Yorosso, then in Bamako, Iba’s calling for music never stopped. In Yorosso Iba learned to play the guitar, balafon and kora; in Bamako he took lessons throughout his college years, but his career fully blossomed when Iba decided to relocate to Montreal in 2001.

Iba refers to his style of music as being “the black blues” and throughout his songs you will find him singing about peace, unity, love, respect, and social injustice. While the majority of his lyrics are sung in his native Bambara, Iba also expresses himself in French, Spanish and English on this first album entitled Mouna.
Today Iba spends most of his time in Mali, playing shows across the country and spending time with his father Abdoulaye. He’s established a strong following at home at an early age, a symbol of achievement for the people of Mali. Iba, heir to the griot tradition, has also become the leader of a contemporary Malian sound. The world is next..

Past Posts about Iba Diabate:

  • Chop Our Music – 2 year Anniversary Super Release! January 1, 2011   Hard to believe, but it was just over 2 years ago that our first release, Akwaaba wo Africa, came out worldwide. What a journey it’s been since then! 2 dozen releases spanning the gamut from Nigerian highlife to Gambian griot kora, Angolan kuduro to Benin salsa… We’ve had the pleasure of collaborating with artists from ...
  • Iba Diabaté “Mouna” available in iTunes January 26, 2010 Yeah… we’re hams! Couldn’t resist but post this massive feature courtesy of our friends over at iTunes. If this is any indication, Iba’s album is well worth checking out. Thanks again to Bruno & the iTunes US team for helping us push this fabulous music!!
  • Iba Diabaté – Waba (video) July 27, 2009
  • Iba Diabaté – Wala Yalala October 6, 2008 Iba is another talented Malian griot. The son of revered Malian great Abdoulaye Diabaté, Iba’s voice was noticed at an early age in the village of Yorosso, east of Bamako near the border with Burkina Faso. Iba sings mostly in his native Bambara, but also in French, English and Spanish, singing about respect, peace, love ...

on April 24 | by