FOKN Bois & Irie Maffia Remixes

From Eritrea to Ethiopia: Saba

November 3, 2011 Comments Off on Just A Band In Your Earbuds Views: 2806 Blog, Free Stuff, Friends, Just A Band, Kenya, News

Just A Band In Your Earbuds

Take classics: Fela, Manu Dibango, Hugh Masekela. Take dancefloor killers: DJ Cleo, Louie Vega, Hat+Hoodie. Soak it all in a thick Just A Band Kenyan stew. Bam! Sick sick sick mixtape by our favorite Kenyan band, thanks to okayafrica for making it happen! Check Just A Band’s album “82” if you haven’t – this is not a recommendation, it’s an order.

1. Dela – “Ulivyo” (Kenya)
2. Vetkoek vs Mahoota – “Shukuma”
3. Psychedelic Nwomkro All-Stars (Kweku Ananse) – “Nwomkro Jam 2.0″
4. A Just A Band Mashup containing elements from of Little Dragon “Never Never (SBTRKT Remix)” and Yoko Kanno’s “Fantasie Sign” from the Cowboy Bebop OST.
5. DJ Cleo – “Katu Katu”
6. Just A Band – “Heat (Demo)”
7. Jali Bakary Konteh – “Combination (Hat and Hoodie Remix)”
8. Another Just A Band Mashup containing elements from Black Coffee + Hugh Masekela – “We Are One (Louie Vega Remix),” and a katitu song.
9. A snip-up of Hugh Masekela performing Fela Kuti’s “Lady”
10. Another snip-up of “Nanan” by Ali Farka Toure, Baaba Maal, Youssou N’Dour, Papa Wemba, Franco, Manu Dibango
11. A mild remix of Sam Fan Thomas’ “Neng Makassi”
12. A mashup of “Freedom Is Coming Tomorrow” from the Sarafina! film soundtrack and dialogue from Tolu Ogunmefun’s 7th episode of “Don’t Jealous Me” (“Pronounce My Name – Shett Men!”)
13. Sam Fan Thomas’ “Noa”

Tags: , , , , , , ,